Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

what tarp w/ ENO DoubleNest?

im really new to hammocking (3 days) and i went through a few hammocks before i stumbled onto the DoubleNest from Eagle's Nest Outfitters

i love this thing; im 6'4" and i can stretch out flat across the diagonal with room to spare

anyways the tarp i have now is a rain fly from an old Coleman tent i found on the sidewalk and its about 6" too long for the hammock and its shape sucks (its a rectangle); oh and it sags and bunches up on a tight ridgeline (first mod - ENO's dont come with a ridgeline for some reason)

EDIT2: Coleman fly is 9'7" x 6'4" which i guess isnt bad now that i measured it

can someone chime in with what tarps they use on their DoubleNest? if anyone else here actually uses it

im looking to get a camo tarp for Florida camping can someone maybe suggest one? im also undecided between hex and square shape

EDIT: the ENOs come with carabiners attached to both ends of the hammock and i want a fly that attaches to the ends of the hammock so that when you take the carabiners off the ropes you can just fold it up with the fly quickly, but the problem is that if the tarp ends at the carabiners i dont think that will provide enough coverage to keep the ends of the hammock dry; i cant think of another solution other than to chain another 2 carabiners on the ones i have; but i was thinking, would trying circles of rope in between the hammock to the carabiner work if the rope is strong enough or is that a bad idea? that way i can save the weight of using more carabiners (already really heavy...i should probably get aluminium ones); i know its a bad description here's a diagram lol

Tree>Carabiner>Rope Loop>Hammock<Rope Loop<Carabiner<Tree ;; with the tarp attaching at the carabiners where before the carabiners attached directly to the hammock loops and thus the tarp doesnt cover the ends sufficiently

anyways if someone can come up with a better solution it'd be much appreciated