Hammock
    Eno Doublenest, GT Nano
    Tarp
    MacCat Standard
    Insulation
    Dunno yet!
    Suspension
    Whoopies

How do I sew a hole in the foot of my sleeping bag?

I have not been able to find any threads with a write up on how to do this. I have a 0 degree bag with a storage pocket and zipper on the foot. It's a perfect set up to zip it open and have a hole on the inside so I could slide the sleeping bag over the hammock. The current configuration has a double zipper, but It starts about 2 foot from the foot of the bag and I loose all the room by simply zipping it over the hammock.

Anybody have any experience with this, or know of anyone with a write up on how to do it?

Thanks!

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY DWR nylon
    Insulation
    DIY pad
    Suspension
    Depends
    Quote Originally Posted by Ocelot View Post
    I have not been able to find any threads with a write up on how to do this. I have a 0 degree bag with a storage pocket and zipper on the foot. It's a perfect set up to zip it open and have a hole on the inside so I could slide the sleeping bag over the hammock. The current configuration has a double zipper, but It starts about 2 foot from the foot of the bag and I loose all the room by simply zipping it over the hammock.

Anybody have any experience with this, or know of anyone with a write up on how to do it?

Thanks!
    A picture would be a big help here. in general, I guess I would sew a box of stitch in the body of the bag, where you want the hole to be, leaving a hem allowance, cut a slit in the box in the shape of an elongated H, fold and hem for clean edges. then I would sew on some Velcro, and a flap so I could close the hole when not on the hammock. If there is a seam in place at the foot of the bag, I would rip the seam, and stitch the material seperately.
    An emergency of my own making...is still an emergency.

Hammock
    Eno Doublenest, GT Nano
    Tarp
    MacCat Standard
    Insulation
    Dunno yet!