Dream Hammock Thunderbird 11'
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Incubator Econ
    Suspension
    Python straps

Questions from a n00b

I just joined HF a few weeks ago. I've been perusing the site and trying to get some ideas about how to proceed since I've never used a hammock before (long time backpacker, though).

After giving it some thought I've just ordered a GT UL, Coghlan's mosquito net and some 'biners (to replace the "S" hooks). Besides a tarp, what else will I need for my first attempt?

I don't intend to go in the winter and will wait until it's warm enough not to need any significant insulation like over/under quilts. I do have the means to play around during the winter so I can figure out how to get everything set up.

I can see the WBBB and whoopie slings in my future, but for now I just need to figure out the basics. Any help/opinions would be appreciated!

Hammock
    WBBB/TR, DIY, HH, SB DL, GT UL
    Tarp
    ID/OES/WB/WL
    Insulation
    HG/WB/Go-Lite/WB
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Straps/DW
    Images
    Considering your location - I would have thought winter gear would have been some first steps!!

With the GT UL and biners all you really need is some tree straps (the ones that come are knotted cord I believe - removed mine right away!). Any of the vendors would have a set for a decent price.

Other than that - just some time and patience and your set. Have a blast!
    The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering. - St. Augustine

Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet.
    - Bob Marley

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    Welcome! Sling 'er up and hang away!

Even in warmer weather you may find you need some light bottom insulation. It can get chilly enough to border on uncomfortable even if you are comfortable walking around.

Defintitely get winter insulation when you go back to Hoth.