WB DL 1.1
    Tarp
    WB superfly
    Insulation
    DIY-900 down UQ-TQ
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopie-
    Images

How does one fill down into the baffles?

I'm new at this. I understand baffle construction; but once it's constructed whats the best way to fill the baffles with the down? Is it basically a manual/visual operation or are there some tried and true techniques for getting the job done without having your home looking like a chicken coop? How do you determine wether there is sufficient down in the baffle?

Hammock
    Most
    Tarp
    Sea to Summit
    Insulation
    Down
    Suspension
    Becket Hitch
    Images
    Adam from HammockGear.com will package the down you buy from him into small tubes, each weighed to specifications. I think you can request tubes down to the ounce a piece, if I remember correctly. Using the tubes makes it a little easier to measure and stuff the down into the baffles.

One tip I read about down was to pitch a small dome tent and seal yourself in and do all your stuffing there. That way you won't lose as much down as it floats and lofts away.

If you bought your down in bulk, I'd ask some of the cottage manufacturers like Adam how he does it. For my next down project, I'm going to buy the tubes pre-stuffed to make my life easier.

Hammock
    WWBB
    Tarp
    UQ.com Maxtarp
    Insulation
    DIY TQ & M50 UQ
    Suspension
    Dutchness + Straps
    Images
    I salvaged a bunch of down earlier this fall and used a tent. Collected as much as possible by hand and stuffed my desired weight per baffle into a plastic bag. Then swept up the loose stuff with a CLEAN vaccum.
    To stuff, I found it works well to Throw your quilt over a chair or something and then open and pinch the bags one at a time and slide it as far as possible down into the baffle then carefully turn the bag inside out and slowly pull it up and out of the baffle. Then pin the baffle shut, Rinse and repeat.