Thread: Sewing practice

Hammock
    Clark / Claytor
    Tarp
    Neo 12 X 12
    Insulation
    Cheap pad

Sewing practice

For all you DIY project guys: I’m about to steal my sister’s sewing machine & start some projects. My question is what do you guys feel is the best material to use, what thread, and the best project to LEARN to sew. At this point I have ZERO experience sewing.

The harder I work, the luckier I get.

I was introduced to sewing, years ago, thru a VCR series called "Sewing with Nancy." It really was good and actually a sewing/fabric store lent it to me 'cause they were so happy to have a guy be interested. There really is a lot to bobbin tension and technique, maybe it's like skiing or golf; a little instruction at the beginning goes a long way. It just might keep you from throwing the machine out the window in frustration.
    Last edited by daibutsu; 05-16-2008 at 18:42.

Hammock
    Clark / Claytor
    Tarp
    Neo 12 X 12
    Insulation
    Cheap pad
    I already have a knowledgeable neighbor lined up to give me a couple of lessons. I know this help will go a LONG way towards keeping my sanity.
    The harder I work, the luckier I get.

Hammock
    Ridge Runner
    Tarp
    DCF Winter
    Insulation
    DIY down UQ @ TQ
    Suspension
    Whoope
    Images
    6'

Just starting myself, but, I use nylon thread, "outdoor" or "upholstery" type, not polyester, because polyester and cotton break constantly. ($3+) My first projects were gear bags, and a ' practice ' parka made from an old bed sheet. Have moved on to a DIY hammock, and UQ.