Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

General Hammock Question

I read through the first few pages of the sticky, however the cheaper hammocks listed there don't seem to be available online anymore. I'm brand new to this and i'm not sure what a good hammock is for general camping where the temperature probably wouldn't go below 30 F. Does anyone have any opinions on the Grand Trunk Air Bivy Extreme Shelter? found here: http://store.grandtrunkgoods.com/ten...xtreme-shelter
    Thanks,
    Nick

Hammock
    Traveler with HNO AirShip
    Tarp
    HNO AirShip
    Insulation
    Leiglo 5/50
    Suspension
    Everything Dutch
    Images
    the Air Bivy Extreme Shelter is certainly cool looking-literally since it has no insulation in the kit....so you could use it as is probably to 60F before you get chilly. Of course adding insulation is a whole 'nother world after selecting a hammock.
    Let me save you time/trouble/effort/consteration--buy a Warbonnet Blackbird and be done with it..if you get into this sport of hanging from trees you will eventually (most likely) end up with a Blackbird.
    THEN study insulation based on the temps you plan on hanging in.
    Me and many others hang in temps from OF and lower to the 90s-maybe some even higher.
    The beauty of hammocking is the vast array of insulation options.
    Study here at HF and you'll discover many vendors offering underquilts for a huge range of temperatures, top quilts too.
    Most of us avoid sleeping bag use in a hammock but it is done, it works, and you've probably already got a sleeping bag!
    So go step by step.
    Borrow a hammock and try it first--better yet get to a group hang--most of us are more than willing to let you try ours for a while.
    Buy a cheaper hammock than the one you listed if you want to gamble on the low end that you'll like it.
    Save your money for the Blackbird.