Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Practice now...or wait?

As many of you know, I am new to the hammock camping world. I have been learning SO much on this forum. Like others, I am eager to put into action what I am learning.

I purchased a very rudimentary hammock, suspension system, and tarp with the intent of really only using it during the summer when the nighttime lows will be in the 60s and 70s. My intent is to use my pre-existing CCF for thermal protection if needed.

Now for the problem....

I am chomping at the bit to hang my hammock. I tent camp year round and I have a backpacking trip coming up this weekend. I am considering taking my hammock and setting it up. I will also have my tent set up. My intention is to try to sleep in my hammock and have my tent ready as a bail-out plan.

Is a CCF and mummy sleeping bag (to be used as a TQ) enough to keep the average person warm on a 35 degree night? Is this reasonable or am I setting myself up to fail, and (ultimately) hate hammocking?

Hammock
    Eno DL, Deep Jungle XL, Kammock Roo
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    UGQ quilts!!!
    Suspension
    Whoopies and web
    If you layer like crazy, then maybe it would be ok. Im not a CCF pad guy, but ive heard some success stories.

Also, it depends on the bags rating. youre going to get very little insulation from it under you.

if youre like i was (broke) and can find one, get a poncho liner and make a UQ. while it wont be good alone to that temp, proper layering and the pad could get you there. And if you get a second, i used mind close to freezing by throwing over my ridgeline and making a "tent" type deal to keep in heat.

but it never hurts to take it to hang out in or learn to set it up.
    Give a man fire and he's warm for the night.
    Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life. Dante

Hammock
    Eno DL, Deep Jungle XL, Kammock Roo
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    UGQ quilts!!!
    Suspension
    Whoopies and web