Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images

Pad/UQ Undecided

I've been doing a lot of research to help me decide on some bottom insulation for my WBBB 1.1DL that will be coming soon. You guys are great!!! What an amazing amount of info here!

I'm new to hammocks but I'm planning on using the WBBB in night temps 40°F-60°F. I plan on continuing tent camping below that...I know, blasphemy!!! Anyway, I'm contemplating some options.

1. I currently have 2 Thermarest Prolite Plus mats from tent sleeping (short and regular). The regular is a great fit being about 3" longer than me. So my first option is to try either one of these with my Marmot 30° down sleeping bag. I know the 20" width may be trouble, but I would like to try it and see just how bad it may be without an SPE or multiple mats. I don't want to do that. Opinions on this setup, even as a starting point and to convince me to get a UQ?

2. The 40° HG Phoenix UQ has really got my attention - great reviews, nice length for my height at about 5'9". Sounds like a good fit on the WBBB. Let's say it's 40° at night and I have the 40° Phoenix and my 30° down bag on top...will I be sleeping in a furnace? I can't seem to wrap my head around the UQ and how warm it keeps your whole body since it wraps around the sides a bit.

I really appreciate all the info on this forum, and would appreciate any comments on my specific dilemma. I just can't picture the difference of 40° on the ground vs. 40° in a hammock. I have this notion that it's completely different, leaving me with no idea what to use for a TQ or wear to sleep. I'm sure testing it in my back yard will yield the best answer.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Dbl xlc
    Tarp
    HG cuben
    Insulation
    HG
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Dutch bkls
    Listening to the advise on this forum has saved me a lot of time and money. Still I have to discover some things for myself. I recommend that you try both pad and UQ.