Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DIY List

Hammock
    ENO DN
    Suspension
    DIY Ring Buckle

DIY List

I'm very new to hammocking but I want to dive right into the DIY aspect of it. I guess that's the type of person I am. Anyways, by lurking I have found most of the materials and methods I would like to use (cinch buckle, polypropylene webbing, paracord) and have a general idea of how to mod my Eno Doublenest. This is what I have so far on my shopping list:

• onrope1.com 1" cinch buckle (x2)

• Strapworks.com 1" polypro webbing

• Paracord

So I have 2 questions: Any recommendation on what kind and size of paracord? I know there are tons of options, but remember I'm a newbie so any suggestion is a good one. Second, is there anything I am missing or may need?

Sorry if this is the wrong spot to post or anything, the mods on here seem to be pretty tolerant to new guys....
    I believe that this is a practical world and that I can count only on what I earn. Therefore, I believe in work, hard work...
    I believe in my Country, because it is a land of freedom and because it is my own home, and that I can best serve that country by "doing justly, loving mercy, and walking humbly with my God."
    And because Auburn men and women believe in these things, I believe in Auburn and love it.
    -From the Auburn Creed, by George Petrie, 1945

Hammock
    WBRR & WBBB
    Tarp
    Custom Old Man Win
    Insulation
    My fat butt
    Suspension
    My kids
    I would look at whoopie slings that are made out of amsteel. Paracord is known to stretch.

You can look at dutch's website also at the new clips for whoopie slings.

Hammock
    DIY Extra Wide & Long Tablecloth
    Tarp
    Funky & GG Tarps
    Insulation
    DIY down UQ
    Suspension
    continuous L. Amst
    I'd drop the cinch buckle and the paracord and go with whoopie slings. Paracord really isn't recommended as part of your suspension.

Hammock
    DIY Extra Wide & Long Tablecloth
    Tarp