Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie here, tell me what is wrong with my set up

Hey guys, I just got my ENO single and have got a suspension system all set up for it. I tested it out and didn't notice any problems. I tried to do everything as cheap as I could, while making everything as light as possible.

Here is my tree strap. It is a 300 lb rated working load ratchet strap with the hook cut off. Its breaking point is 800 lbs.

Here is the attachment point like you would use with whoopie slings. That is a piece of aluminum tubing roughly 50% bigger than an arrow.

Here is the hammock attached to everything.

So will I end up busting my *** one night or does this set up look like it should hold up fine? I am about 180 lbs BTW.

Thanks

Hammock
    HH Explorer Hex Fly
    Tarp
    Hex
    Insulation
    Big Agnes Ins Pad
    Suspension
    Slings & Whoopies
    Looks fine to me. Just make sure the hammock loop rests on the knot on the marlin spike.

Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    Wilderness Tadpole
    Insulation
    Not in Georgia...
    Suspension
    Whoopies!
    Images
    Can't see the pics (im at work and they block a lot) but from the sounds of things, you might be pushing the straps a bit. Plan for wear and tear, and when it tears, you hit the dirt. Remember, the whoopie sling rope goes on the knot, not the toggle.

When you apply weight to the hammock it pulls more than your actual weight against the rope/straps/toggle/gathered ends.
    There's an equation and chart somewhere around here that someone posted a while back, someone put some time and effort into it and got the point across.

I'll take another look when I get home, but if anyone else can see the pics please speak up..

Shnick
    ...Levitate me
    - Pixies

Quote Originally Posted by Shnick View Post