ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Econ TQ & UQ
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles

Suspension System Measurement Guidelines

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting in the forums, although, I have casually read some posts for a few months. My wife bought me an ENO doublenest and the Slap Straps for Christmas (my first hammock). I never thought about not using the ENO straps, however, since perusing the forums I have become interested in, and am almost certain I will, switch to a different suspension system. I am thinking about using 1" straps from strapworks and making my own whoopie slings. As a result, I have a few questions that I'm sure someone will be able to answer.

1. I plan to use 1" polypropylene webbing for the straps. What would be a good/average total length to use for each of the two straps?

2. For the Whoopie Slings, what are the types of measurements I need to consider? How long should the completed straps be and to get "that" length, how much AmSteel do I need for each sling? Also, how many inches from the end should I place marks for making the brummels and how far from the end do I start when making the adjustable section?

I've watched several Whoopie Sling instruction videos and feel comfortable that I will do well in the "construction phase", but I'm just not sure of the the measurements/distances.

Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    HG/BWWD/Z-Packs
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Woopies & Straps
    Images
    1. I use 2 ft to 4 ft straps and any combination of. Depending on the area I am hiking in and the sizes of the trees I expect to hang from. I try to have as little line wrapped around the tree as possible. I invert my woopies so the adjustable end is connected to to the hammock via. a Dutch Woopie Hook.