HG Cuben
    Insulation
    Hammockgear UQ TQ
    Suspension
    Dutch/whoopie

Great Barrier Reef Knot

Hello to everyone on Hammock Forums!

What a fantastic thing this is.

I've spent a little time on many forum sites and I have to say the atmosphere on this one is something special.

There must be something about the sort of soul that likes to hang from a tree that lends itself to entertaining, good humoured, helpful, resourceful bonhomie.

I'm an Irish fellow living and working in Cairns, Tropical Far North Queensland, Australia with an organization called the Royal Flying Doctor Service.

I'm kind of new to hanging having elevated myself from the dirt. I've been using hammocks everywhere since a trip to Mexico back in 98 when I spent a few weeks in my sisal string hammock. I've been carrying parachute silkies for years but I've recently worn out my tent and I've decided not to renew it. I plan to use my hammock and customize my gear to allow ultralightweight under Tarp on-ground sleeping too.

I know there are a few aussies and kiwis on the forum and I'm keen to say hello to anyone and everyone and learn from you guys. I'd love to get into DIY sometime but for now my job, my beautiful nutty children and my many other interests all adds up to not enough time. ( Yet! )

I bring my hammocks into many aspects of my life. I work in remote Aboriginal communities and I have to fly in there carrying a lot of special light weight medical kit. So what extra weight I carry has to be small and efficient. I regularly have to stay in these communities and I am now using my HH Backpacker Asym rather than a bed.

I'm doing a few solo desert hangs out around the Border of Queensland and the Northern Territory. I'll do a few on boats on the great barrier reef when I'm diving. I'll do a few when I'm up on Cape York working (very hot.)

I'm planning a long slow through hike with my father next Antipodean summer in New Zealand, over the Leslie-Karamea track.