Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Venting an Underquilt

I am new to HF, but have been addicted to Backingpackinglight.com for a few years now. I'm now just starting to dabble in hammocks. I just picked up my first underquilt, but haven't received it yet. I think it will be too warm for me during the summer. I keep seeing people mention "venting" the underquilt. How do you do that? Does that mean hang it more loosly?

Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Insulation
    Thermarest Prolite
    Suspension
    Whoopie/Toggle
    From what I understand, yes. Also, since most UQs can slide along whatever is suspending them; you can also cool down by moving the UQ to either end of the hammock.

Hammock
    DIY dbl 1.1
    Tarp
    DIY hex
    Insulation
    DIY 3 season tq+uq
    Suspension
    webbing, again
    Images
    I am not one to give advice because I must not do it right. But....

I typically loosen the bungee at the head end, essentially creating a less snug fit at my shoulders. I can move a little in the hammock and the UQ will gap during the movement. This works fine in the summer, but if it's fairly cool, I am rewarded with a cool chill down my back.

I find venting is more easily accomplished on the top.

Hammock
    Warbonnet
    Tarp
    HG/BWWD/Z-Packs
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Woopies & Straps
    Images