Hanging a military style jungle hammock

Please help.... I'm new at this hammock thing. I bought two military style jungle hammocks and two sets of tree saver straps and proceeded to hang one of these things (no biggie for a licensed A&P mechanic with 40 years of experience) RIGHT??? Well very shortly, my butt was on the ground with the bottom of the hammock under me and the top and mosquito net wrapped around my head. There must be a better way.......

Both ends of the hammock have fabric loops(5or6) with a continuous heavy rope going back and forth between the loops and a two inch ring, is it supposed to hang this way??? or should I install a dowel (.625 or .750) in diameter and length to match the width of the hammock???

The hammocks do not appear long enough to do away with the ropes and go to a whoopie sling.. What do you suggest??

Hammock
    Grapenut DIY
    Tarp
    HNO Airship
    Insulation
    Leigh-Lo
    Suspension
    Always
    What failed? My hypothesis is Your knot and not the tree hugger. Try a figure 8 knot wrapped several times. I believe Hennessy has a video of how to accomplish this on their website.
    Afoot and light-hearted, I take to the open road,
    Healthy, free, the world before me,
    The long brown path before me, leading wherever I choose.

Like Lewis & Clark: Wintrin' o/t Columbia again: PDX
    Hammock
    Clark w 2QZQ mod,Tropical, NX;Nano
    Tarp
    Clark micro
    Insulation
    Major down
    Suspension
    7/64 SK75 +strap
    Images
    Large dowels or spreader bars go in there, I forget which.

In truth, these mil specs offer the living and well less comfort than the simlarly sized stretcher offer the wounded on the battlefield. They are very narrow, and very tippy.

(I'm not knocking what I did not myself shell out $ for a year ago.)

Better, to try this hammock thing, making your own minimal one, maybe starting with a hemmed table cloth.