WV, USA -- Temporarily displaced from Alaska

New to the forums hope to learn about building hammocks!

Hey everyone,

Just wanted to check in. I am looking forward to learning about hammock camping and making my own gear. I have taken small net style hammocks with me on backpacking trips since I was in middle school, but never actually spent the night in one. I have always been a tent, or primitive shelter type of guy.

Things have changed a bit now as my wife and I have a 1 yr old boy who we want to start taking out with us. Currently we have been using my old 2 man REI Convert Mtn 4 season tent which works great for even heavy snow winter trips (we are from Alaska) but is just too small to add in a child. So I was thinking of making a hammock set up and using it while the wife and child sleep in the tent. Mwaahhaaha I would be able to get some sleep at night. LOL

Anyways I also have back problems so I think the hammock set up might be just the ticket. I am a contractor and machinist so I have the tools and knowledge to make most of the stuff I would need including machined parts. We also have on old 1930's Singer 15-91 that is still going strong that I could use to sew things up.

So I am going to go post some topics around the DIY section and see if I can learn something.

Thanks,
    Ripstop

Hammock
    Too many to list
    Tarp
    Cuben with doors
    Insulation
    FlThrwr UQ+DIY TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies + straps
    Images
    Howdy and welcome! Love your screen name!
    "Pips"
    Mountains have a dreamy way
    Of folding up a noisy day
    In quiet covers, cool and gray.

---Leigh Buckner Hanes

Surely, God could have made a better way to sleep.

Surely, God never did.

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images
    Welcome to the forum from Florida.