Dream Hammocks Sparrow
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Hammockgear, KAQ
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles baby

Cool Just getting started and on a budget

Howdy all! I was hoping to get access to concentrated wisdom from the group. I'm relatively new to camping, but have gotten a lot more involved since my son became a Boy Scout. I've also become an assistant Scoutmaster, which means I'm going camping at least once a month....which at this point mean packing up and dragging along a big ol tent and cot to try to get a decent night sleep. I JUST got a hammock initially as a way of relaxing (for those few moments on outings when one can relax) at the campsite. Would expect that the boys would have some fun playing in a hammock as well. But, as I started investigating hammocks, it turns out that you can actually CAMP in them! What a concept!

So, I am interested in seeing what might be involved in getting set up as a hammock camper with a couple caveats: my DIY skills are somewhat limited (no sewing machine, and i'm knot challenged) and I'm on a budget. I just bought an REI tent and the REI cot (which is actually quite nice, just large and heavy). In order to maintain some family harmony, would be good to try to keep costs reasonable.

What I currently have: Hammock Bliss Double, homemade tree straps (thanks Professor Grizz!). Just using Figure Nine carabiners to connect the rope that came with the hammock to the home made tree straps. Easy to adjust.

I've been eyeing the Hennesy Explorer Deluxe (and drooling over the WBBB!) as sort of an all in one system. Was curious if folks had suggestions for other setups (e. g. tarp, bug net, suspension) that might be less expensive and could use my existing hammock.

BTW: I'm ~6' and ~200lb. And, this set up would be for car camping only, so weight isn't a big deal...at least for now.

Suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Bruce

Hammock
    Martian Bridge (DIY)
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images