Dream Hammock Thunderbird 11'
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    HG Incubator Econ
    Suspension
    Python straps

Is it just me?

I'm a newbie, and as an avid backpacker I assumed that hammocking would be a lighter option than tent camping (yes, I know what making assumptions does). After assembling my first rig - GT UL with DIY whoopies (6') and tree straps (6'), mosquito netting, cheap blue poly tarp (8x10) plus guylines and stakes . . . it comes out about even. I know that the blue poly tarp is the biggest culprit but I can't afford a silnylon one right now. I'm also not going to be in the market for a down TQ/UQ any time soon so I'm using a pad and sleeping bag, both of which are pretty lightweight already.

Has anyone else noticed this, or is it just my inexperience (or small budget)? Does anyone have recommendations for losing some gear weight without breaking the bank?

Hammock
    Lite Owl; Light Hiker
    Tarp
    Toxaway;MacCat Dlx
    Insulation
    Burrow; Incubator
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Personally, comfort > weight.
    JaxHiker aka Kudzu - WFA
    Florida Trail Association: NE FL Trail Coordinator (Gold Head to Stephen Foster)
    Trail Issues? Please let me know.
    Blazing Trails with Kudzu @ www.idratherbehiking.com
    Follow me @idratherbhiking

Hammock
    Claytor
    Tarp
    MacCat delux Spinn
    Insulation
    CCF and Quilts
    Suspension
    web and buckles
    Images
    you are correct the biggest culprit is the poly tarp. You don't need to break the bank to get a lighter one. best way is to pick up a used one from the for sale forum here. Light weight options show up often.

You didn't mention what netting you are using. Some of the manufactured ones are almost as heavy as the hammock itself. Get some polyester chiffon or tulle from Joanns and drape it over a line and you canhardly get much lighter or cheaper.

Hammock
    WL Night Owl
    Tarp
    WL Old Man Winter
    Insulation
    Quilts + Body Fat
    Suspension