A few questions from a newbie, thanks.

Hello everyone,

Answers, opinions, and suggestions are welcome. I am really new to hammock camping. I have a cheap wal-mart $24 dollar hammock (that is way better then I thought), and a Hennessy Expetition.

I like the idea of the whoopie sling I seen here, also I like the way the tree straps is attached to the tree with Dutch clip (I think that was what it was called), and the Marlin spike. As this setup allows quick easy setup that will allow me to attach close to the tree no matter the tree size. And it looks like I can attach the whoopie sling direct to the hammock for a short connection if needed.

Questions now. What size of AmSteel Blue should I look for to make the Whoopie slings? And should I look for 8 or 12 strand? Also where is the best place to buy AmSteel Blue and the Dutch clip? Also what size and type material would be best for the tree hugger strap?

Next I plan on making my next hammock, I see lots of good plans here and on the internet.

Thanks everyone for your time,
    James

Hammock
    WB, JRB, WL
    Tarp
    bigger is better;)
    Insulation
    HG, JRB, UGQ, WL
    Suspension
    If it aint Dutch..
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Replay13 View Post
    Hello everyone,

Answers, opinions, and suggestions are welcome. I am really new to hammock camping. I have a cheap wal-mart $24 dollar hammock (that is way better then I thought), and a Hennessy Expetition.

I like the idea of the whoopie sling I seen here, also I like the way the tree straps is attached to the tree with Dutch clip (I think that was what it was called), and the Marlin spike. As this setup allows quick easy setup that will allow me to attach close to the tree no matter the tree size. And it looks like I can attach the whoopie sling direct to the hammock for a short connection if needed.