First time hanger long time camper

I know I know, there is the search feature, but I could not find a clear answer to this one.

The plan is to go on a 2 day 1 night hike on the AT in the mountains of VA in mid to late October. Average low temperature is 42 where we are going, but obviously I have to assume it could get down to 32.

We are looking at the Grand Trunk SkeeterBeeter Ultralite Hammocks. Here is where the question comes in.

I have a 0 degree mummy bag that keeps me warm when the temperature is below 32 and I am just in my boxers. Do you think I need an underquilt? This is definitely a budget hike, so if I can save the money on this I will. But on the other hand, I do know what its like to be COLD at night. Not just...I'm cold, but the shivering not able to close my eyes cold.

So yeah, assume temp can get to 32 degrees. I am in a Hammock with a 0 degree mummy bag. Do I need an underquilt, and if I do, would just a sleeping pad work for the time being.

Thanks

Hammock
    Eno dn/BAIS
    Tarp
    real tree hunters
    Insulation
    peapod
    Suspension
    whoopie
    This is shug's happy place!! Go on YouTube and watch Shug's videos. There are at least 15 of him in stupid cold and loving it.
    Carpe noctem!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mikeinajeep View Post
    This is shug's happy place!! Go on YouTube and watch Shug's videos. There are at least 15 of him in stupid cold and loving it.
    Alright, sounds good. Thanks for the info. I have seen a bunch of his pages/links to videos, just haven't looked into them yet.