Thread: Needle size

Needle size

What size needle do I need to use to sew noseeum & tulle? Also what type stitch? Straight or zigzag?
    Thanks

Hammock
    Grand Trunk Skeeter Beeter Pro
    Tarp
    Warbonnet superfly
    Insulation
    pad, IX UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie Sling
    Images
    I'm fairly new to this "thread injector" stuff. I would hope ramblinrev pipes in here for you. He is very well versed. I would think that you would need a ball point for the open weave of the no see ums material. For the most part you want a "sharp" or "universal" for the ripstop (tight weave material) and a ball point for the more open weave fabrics. As for the size I would go with a #9 and a straight stitch. Take this information with a grain of salt. Perhaps some more experienced "injectors" will straighten both of us out. Good luck on all you DIYs. All I've made to this point is a set of Snakeskins and a stuff sack. Both came out great. I used the above mentioned #9 sharp and a straight stitch. The thread is important too. Don't use cotton as it will dry rot over time. Don't use nylon in your home injector as it tends to cause problems with the tensioner. Use gutermanns Polyester thread.

-Bill
    Take this soul, stranded in some skin and bones, take this soul and make it sing.

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images