Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Images

goin back to ground, help

Well I have some concerns, due to inexperience probably, planning my hike and I have some concerns with a few hammock things.
    1. Setting up in weather
    2. Staying out in weather, bad weather would be easier to put up with in a tent
    3. Securing gear in weather
    4. Warmth, planning on the nest and sniveler

weather=bad in this instance

I have a HH and have had good results in summer weather, slept in rain with no problems, use a ccf pad with good results, its just the whole AT thing and the possibility/likelihood of weather. Plan B is to tent until the weather breaks then hammock. I know, I know, its me.

How bout some advice, I love my HH, but I got issues. ankh

Hammock
    Dual Layer WB Blackbird
    Tarp
    OES Cuben
    Insulation
    SnugFit
    Images
    Practice, practice, practice.....
    “Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds the darkness has always got there first, and is waiting for it." -Terry Pratchett

Premium Quality, Fresh Roasted Coffee
    www.meancatcoffee.com

Images
    If you know your hammock keeps you dry, and you use a CCF pad which is impervious to water any way, then isn't it just a matter of having a ccf pad that is plenty thick enough for the expected temps?

A Super Shelter ( or a JRB Weather shield) added to your CCF pad would give you extra protection from wind blown rain or snow, even when using the stock tarp, as well as some extra warmth and wind protection. But a thick CCF pad( wind and waterproof), especially in a Speer SPE with pads in the wings, and a windproof shell on your bag or quilt, will give you a whole lot of wind protection anyway, as well as a lot of cold protection.