Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

newbie here, just a couple of questions

hi,

a couple of friends and i are planning a camping/hiking trip to hawaii over december/january for a month. i really feel like hammock camping is the way to go for this trip but i have some questions i was hoping i could get answered here. i have been reading all reviews and forums, as well as company websites i can find regarding the pros and cons of each particular hammock and i am about 80% sure that i want to go with a hennesy. i just feel like for a newbie like me, the price is good, it comes with the accessories i need, and it appears to be fairly user-friendly.

1) i am a 5'3 125 lb female, so i was wondering if a scout model would work for me. are there any like-sized individuals in here who have used the scout and can offer any advice in this regard? right now at the HH website, they are offering a free scout hammock with the purchase of any other hammock, so i may just order the larger one and try both out. but any personal testimonials would be helpful to me to decide which one to buy.

2) are there any simple mods i can make to the system to get away from having to tie the knots? they look complicated. i saw one picture of someone using a large metal clip and the flat tie downs. can anyone tell me how to do something like this? or, should i just suck it up and learn to tie the knots? are there any other knots that work for tying up the hammock? does anyone know of a good instructional website on knots?

3) since we will be on an island (hawaii) we may do some beach camping. i have seen pics of HH's used on the ground. does anyone here have any experience doing this? is it easy to do and does it work well? i do not want to carry both a tent and a hammock with me. i am also thinking i could use the rainfly and tent poles/ sticks to make a shelter over me.