Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

DIY UQ - Which mummy bag from REI?

Here's the deal - I have no funds to make gear right now except some store credit at REI, but I need some sort of insulation for my hammock. My options are 1)exped air pad, or 2)modify a mummy bag into an underquilt. (I just spent my last $$ for a while on materials for a tarp).

Requirements:
    -less than ~$175
    -compresses small
    -comfortable to mid 30's F

I've already mod'ed a mummy bag for an UQ, but it's an OLD bag and it compresses into the size of two basketballs...no bueno unless I am car camping.

Oh and I have a 20 degree synthetic mummy bag that I sleep in, and plenty of warm layers.

What would you guys recommend?

REI Bags under $100
    REI Bags $100-$150
    REI Bags $150+
    Exped Synmat 7
    Exped Synmant UL 7
    Last edited by FightingTheTide; 11-30-2012 at 10:30.
    For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus' sake. For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. 2 Cor. 4:5-6

Hammock
    ENO Doublenest
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole
    Insulation
    New River KAQ
    Suspension
    webbing & rings
    Images