Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Advice- I am a broke college that is starting to hammock and wants advice.

Hey guys, I am a sophomore in college that goes to a university in the Appalachian Mountains in Southeast Kentucky. As you can imagine we do a lot of hiking and camping while fly fishing. I am going to soon invest in a hammock setup and wanted everyone's advice on what would be the cheapest and best route. I play o line on the university's team and throw for the track team as well ;therefore, I am a large man 6-2, 285 and figured you should know that. Thanks to everyone in advance.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 SL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    WB and UGQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies or Straps
    Images
    The four main things you are going to need is the hammock, a tarp, top insulation and bottom insulation. To go as cheap a possible, get a blue tarp and a closed cell foam pad from walmart. Use an old sleeping bag for top insulation and maybe get a Grand Trunk ultralight hammock. If you have or can borrow an old sleeping bag, then the tarp, pad and hammock would probably cost less than $50.
    Don't let life get in the way of living.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.7 DL & 1.1 DL
    Tarp
    WB SF, WB Edge
    Insulation
    HG Quilts
    Suspension
    Whoopies