12' diy hammock
    Tarp
    superfly
    Insulation
    warmth
    Suspension
    cinch buckle

i got my first thread injector...

i joined this forum about 6 months ago with only an eno dn and now i have 3 hammocks and just got a thread injector. i didn't know this hobby was gonna get me so bad.

anyway, i got an elna su with table from my aunt. she said it was about 30 years old... the same age i am. she also gave me some stitching thingies and some other pieces.

i know absolutely NOTHING about sewing. rtfm, right now i'm on page 7 of the manual. i know there is some thread, then things move up and down, then some magic happens, and you have attached two pieces of fabric.

my aunt said i should get it serviced so that will give me some time to read up on how to work this thing. so until it gets serviced i have 2 questions:
    1) i'm curious on what your opinion of this thread injector is?
    2) any good sites on sewing tutorials for the absolute beginner? i wanna start simple before jumping into trying to make hammock gear. i'd love to replace my sleeping bag with a custom made tq.
    3) [bonus points] whats the difference in a thread injector and a sewing machine? y'all seem to call it a thread injector and i want to call it a sewing machine so i gotta know this.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 or BIAS WWM
    Tarp
    WL Big Daddy
    Insulation
    Tewa, Speer, H.G.
    Suspension
    whoopie
    Images

Re: i got my first thread injector...

1) I am not sure, I only know the one I have. I am very new to this as well.
    2) start with stuff sacks. I utilized chickenwing you tube channel and backwoodsdaydreamer.com guides to help me out. Chickenwing or cwhammocks has a you tube channel by the name of Eric hudgens.
    3) I believe it has something to do with the "we don't sew, we make gear" motto, as I said thread injector to my gf and her mom and they were both like what? Oh you mean sewing machine? Lol.