Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hammock Body only weights

I am a newbie and am researching what I want to do for my first lightweight setup. (Great Forum by the way) I am at looking at several options but have not made a final decision yet so I am asking for some insight from you all. I am looking for information or a thread on the weights of different hammocks without any suspension etc. Just the body of the hammock, whether it has a bug net attached or not. Since most of the commercial hammocks appear to weigh their hammocks with suspension or straps or tarps or storage bags, etc., it is hard to find out what the body of the hammock minus all of that stuff weighs to get an accurate hammock body weight comparison. I plan on going lightweight with whoopie slings etc. so whether I buy my setup piece by piece of start with a Hennessey type setup, it will eventually get modified for lighter weight. I am not opposed to making my own hammock, if I can make one light enough to rival something like the Grand Trunk nano7 or something on that lighter end.

Can any of you give me some "hammock only" weights of your setups? or point me to a thread or a link if I have missed it. I have mainly been looking at these, as I have just started my research, but I am open to any brand/DIY setup.

1. DIY
    2. Grand Trunk Nano7
    3. Hennessey Ultralight, Hyperlight, Explorer Ultralight

For now I am just comparing starting hammock body only weights, when I narrow it down a little more I will do more reading on how much people like or dislike a particular hammock to see if the weight savings is worth a good or bad reviews from current owners. Thanks for any assistance you can offer.

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    Dejoha has a hammock comparison chart:

http://theultimatehang.com/2012/07/p...parison-chart/

Hammock
    Argon X90 Experimental hammock
    Tarp
    7'x9' cuben tarp