Tarp
    12x10 Ripstop DIY
    Insulation
    DIY 2/3 PLUQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie/webbing
    Images

DIY Poncho liner Top quilt

Okay, this is my first attempt at a top quilt, but I don't have the courage to try stuffing with down and facing the wife's wrath. What I did was to take a 86" x 50" poncho liner and sew up the bottom and then join the center seam for about 28".

Then I went to JoAnne Fabrics and got 84" of 58" wide Blizzard Fleece (It was on sale for $4.49 a yard) and sewed that in a similar fashion. The fleece liner fits perfectly into the poncho liner and is quite warm. I plan on doing the backyard test this weekend.

Any thoughts or criticisms would be appreciated.

Hammock
    DIY Hexon 1.0, Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    HG UQ's, EE TQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Mantis
    Those poncho liners are really nice for warmer temps.

I especially like the length - I can pull them over my head to extend the temp range lower.

Good job - it will serve you well!

Hammock
    DIY w/ MSB, MMG Bivy Hammock
    Tarp
    12x10 Ripstop DIY
    Insulation
    DIY 2/3 PLUQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie/webbing
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Funny Money View Post
    Those poncho liners are really nice for warmer temps.

I especially like the length - I can pull them over my head to extend the temp range lower.

Good job - it will serve you well!
    Yeah, I like the extended length for pulling it over my head. The reason for the fleece liner was to make more acceptable when the temps dip. I made it through a 35* night last April with just a fleece liner and a wool blanket, so this should be quite toasty. At least that is what I am hoping for. It is supposed to be down in the mid-30 degree range tonight, so I will find out.

Hammock
    DIY Gathered End
    Tarp
    DIY Asym
    Insulation
    DIY Modular Quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopies/MSH
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by alrany187 View Post