DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    DIY ray way kit
    Insulation
    JRB TQ / Te Wa UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopee + straps

So many choices

Starting to try to do my homework as far as an underquilt. I have a JRB "Rocky Mountain Sniveler" top quilt from my pre-hammock camping days that is a fine piece of gear. No complaints about it, so I will consider them for an underquilt.

But I am getting ahead of myself. I am new to hammock camping, but enthused about how it is working so far. I am tall and thin and have real trouble staying warm, so I find it useful to seriously overdo things in that area. And I find myself often sleeping at temperatures near or a little below freezing, and every now and then in the 20's.

So I am looking at full length hammocks - I like the JRB Mt Washington 4, but I hear lots of good things about the Hammock Gear Incubators (and probably would go with the 0 long.

But now I find myself looking at the Te Wa website, and this is a different twist on things.
    All of his underquilts look like 3/4 length jobs, but are rated to 20 or to 5 degrees!! How in the world does that work? It would be great to carry his 14 ounce 20 degree quilt instead of a 20 degree rated HG Incubator at 26 ounces.

Hammock
    Traveler with HNO AirShip
    Tarp
    HNO AirShip
    Insulation
    Leiglo 5/50
    Suspension
    Everything Dutch
    Images
    It works with you carrying a pad that goes from where your underquilt stops to your heels.
    I've got a TeWa Winter Coat rated to either 0 or 5F and I can tell you it works great with a small pad. Many of us put the pad into the footbox of our top quilt to keep it in place.
    If you read enough on the forum you'll see that some hangers dont like this approach and would rather carry the weight of a full size underquilt.