hammock
    Tarp
    tarp
    Insulation
    UQ
    Images

Another intro

Hello everyone!

I registered a couple of weeks ago and have been lurking for a while. I think I've read enough posts here to be pretty up to date, so I don't ask questions that've been asked a thousand times before.

I'm pretty new to hammocking as an alternative to ground camping, but having tried it, I'm convinced that it's the way to go for most types of camping.

How I got into hammocking

My first introduction to hammocking was in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. While we were planning our trip, we were discussing how we were going to arrange sleeping. One of the 4 of us said he had a 'camping hammock' that he was going to use. The rest of were pretty skeptical to say the least.

Well, once we got to our first campsite, and he was relaxing getting a meal together (his sleeping setup was up in about 2 minutes) after a hair-raising paddle across whitecaps, while we were still messing with tent poles, I started to see the benefits of using a hammock. The rest of the trip I started seeing one reason after another to switch from camping on the ground.

The next year (Last July) the same group of us went on another trip. This time, I too was in a hammock, and for the most part, the decision to ditch the ground and camp swinging proved the right decision. The one part that gave me trouble was my stupid Z-Lite Thermorest just isn't wide enough, and I did discover how cold a hammock can feel.

My style of camping

I camp for several reasons.

1. Hunting
    2. Canoeing
    3. Backpacking (Well, I have never actually backpacked anywhere except school when I was a kid, but I'm taking it up at the ripe old age of 37.)

Hunting