Newbie Sleeping Bag Question

Hey everyone!
    I am completely new at this. I'll be ordering my first hammock soon, a DangerBird from Dream Hammock. The first trip I'll take it on will be in Ohio in June. What sleeping bag temp rating should I look into? I have been told that it is colder to sleep in a hammock than a tent would be. I was mostly worried about the posibility of having some nasty weather and having it cool down on me more than expected.

Hammock
    Grand Trunk Double
    Tarp
    Standard Blue
    Insulation
    pad and sleep. bag
    Suspension
    Tree Huggers
    Most people would say to use an underquilt. I can only give a general statement since I really don't know the weather where you are in June. I think that you should get one for at least the forties or thirties and if it gets too hot you can always sleep with it open. If you have a pad or get one you can put it under yourself but many others would say it's a bit too small, yet I have no problem. My suggestion would be to get a bag without a hood or fold it under yourself.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    I can offer this.......pads if you have them. June can be hot but you may need something under you.
    Shug

Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Weather here in June, the past few years, has been HOT. a 50* bag would be fine with a wally world blue pad or a 1/8" foam pad from Gossamer Gear.

Been kinda dry the past few summers too. Get a good storm here and there and almost nothing in between. Grass has gone brown every summer since I've been at our current place.

Hope that helps. If you're more specific about location it'd be easier to give you a heads up. LIke if i you're going to Cleveland or NE Ohio, you're MUCH more likely to get rain vs. down here around Dayton to Athens it's been more dry int he summer.

Quote Originally Posted by Slo View Post