Hammock
    DIY DL Plain Weave Nylon Gathered
    Tarp
    DIY Clear Plastic
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopieslings

DIY Hammock with paracord under-net idea...

Hey guys, let me first state that I love these forums. Im VERY new to hammock camping and am just starting to get my materials and plans together to make my own camping gear. I plan to mostly do car-camping, so keeping it to the minimal weight isnt an issue in my designs.

I plan to make everything by hand myself, from the hammock to the whoopieslings to the tarp. Im doing it this way for a few reasons, namely, Im cheap. Secondly, Im a big guy [330#+], so I need things that I feel confident will hold me.

I plan to make my hammock using double layer 1.9 ripstop with gathered ends, it will be 3 yards long with the ripstop doubled up on itself and seams sewn along the edges [so 6 yards folded in half longways]. I've ordered amsteel cordage to use for my whoopieslings as it seems to have incredible weight-bearing capacity. I was considering, though, making a paracord under-net for the hammock. To give it a bit more structural integrity.

I was thinking of making the net be roughly 10' long so it more than covers the length but also gives some extra room if needed, so that it could possibly hold an underquilt when/if needed. As for fastening the net to the hammock, I was planning to make some amsteel softshackles to secure both ends around the gathered ends of the hammock. Id be using 550 paracord because its cheap, yet strong and it wont be doing much actual weight bearing, just supporting the ripstop.

I dont know if what Ive written here properly describes what I see in my mind or not, but if so, does this make sense to you guys? Has this been tried before and proven not to work? Any other suggestions or alternative you guys and your many years of personal knowledge can offer?

Thanks in advance!!

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE