Hammock
    Hennessy Expedition A-Sym
    Tarp
    stock Hennessy
    Insulation
    pad & sleeping bag
    Suspension
    DIY whoopie slings

Who uses a tarp in addition to the one over your hammock?

I'm new to hammock camping and on my first hang I brought along an 8' x 10' tarp to use over my main living and cooking area, quite apart from my hammock's tarp. When backpacking or canoe-tripping with your hammock, do any of you use a second tarp for shelter from sun, rain and wind over your main living area? If so, or if not, why?

My tarp over my main living area. My hammock and it's tarp are yards away in the background.

My reason for bringing along my 'dining tarp' is because, as a tenter, I've always had to pitch my tent wherever I could find a flat & level spot, but my tarp could be strung over or near where my fire should be, and this would be where I'd do my cooking, dining, and where I could sit and just relax, usually in a spot that affords a nice view. Judging from the trip reports and photos I see here, it looks as if most hammockers do all their 'living' under their hammock's tarp, since the hammock serves as a chair. I'm curious if this is actually the case.

Thanks,
    - Martin
    No one has ever been heard to say on a deathbed, "I wish I'd put in more time at the office."

Hammock
    WBBB
    Tarp
    WL Big Daddy
    Insulation
    KAQ Jarbridge/SB
    Images

Re: Who uses a tarp in addition to the one over your hammock?

I actually wondered the same thing, since I've always been told not to cook where you sleep, but many seem to cook while sitting in their hammock

Hammock
    HH Expedition, HH Explorer Dlx
    Tarp
    Noah 12, BCUSA 10
    Insulation
    JRB Nest, Old Rag
    Suspension
    Stock HH w/rings
    Images
    Old habits for me. I do not cook and sleep in the same place. I was taught that as a child and it just stuck with me as I saw the results of not doing it