Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Backpacking Trips near DC?

So with the impending furlough of gov't employees, I'm hoping to put my 3 day weekends to good use and get in some much needed backpacking/hanging. That said I'm having a hard time finding loop hikes to go on in the Washington DC Area (within about 3 hours).

I'm interested in backpacking trips for 1-3 nights, that start and end at the same place, with minimal use of the same trail in opposite directions. I also don't mind hiking a few miles then setting up a base camp at a scenic location to spend a few nights at, then hiking out again.

Since I'm just starting out, the only actual trail maps in the area I own are of Shenandoah, and the WV/MD/PA AT trail map. So I'm hoping you can all direct me to finding good backpacking trips in the area so I can just buy those maps, rather than all of them.

Any recommendations?

Thanks,
    EMT

Hammock
    $20 yukon outfitters
    Tarp
    Eno Dry Fly
    Insulation
    enLightened UQ
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopies
    There is a trip this weekend in snp. Look in the trips-----> southeast section

Hammock
    Traveler with HNO AirShip
    Tarp
    HNO AirShip
    Insulation
    Leiglo 5/50
    Suspension
    Everything Dutch
    Images
    I was on the AT in Maryland south bound and met a guy going NoBo; I asked him if he thru'ed from Springer-he said no, he'd started in Washington DC. He used the C/O to get to the AT. Years later we biked the C/O and saw quite a few backpackers. So you have a really nice and viable trail in your back yard.

also, check out hikingupward.com. lot of good hikes described there.

Hammock
    DIY gathered end
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    20* Phoenix
    Suspension
    diy whoopie slings

Re: Backpacking Trips near DC?

Subscribed. Looking to get started backpacking with some time off this summer.

Hammock
    3 custom hk2001 Hammocks
    Tarp
    WB SuperFly
    Insulation
    IX Double Dog Bun
    Suspension