DIY HyperD 11"
    Tarp
    HH Hex
    Insulation
    DIY UQ & down bag
    Suspension
    Whoopies & straps

IL>IL hang?

I read in another thread that the upper 3/4's or so of IL does not seem to be particularly hang-friendly. I'm also new to hammock camping and would really like to try making my own hammock. I'm wondering if there are any planned upcoming hang events for, or near, the Chicago area. Anything within, say, 200 miles I might consider. So, if you know of anything in that range, give me a holler. I mostly want to see some hammocks already set-up and maybe see how they feel before deciding if I'm going to be making my own. I'm not in any particular rush, but would prefer events occurring this year. I'm working on rehab-ing an old Brother Galaxie tactical micro-restraint insertion device, so I have a bit of time before I'm even ready to begin.

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 Double
    Tarp
    Tadpole
    Insulation
    Incubator 40 +2 oz
    Suspension
    Ring and carabiner
    I am down state from you , and also would like to see an Illinois hang. I have been kicking aroud getting one organized,but I have never been to a group hang, so i dont know what kind of area size wise would be needed. Sand ridge state forrest does have a campground that is nestled in a pine stand ,so that would maybe work. I also am unsure about the logistics of getting an area reserved for an event . SO is there anyone out there that knows of a place in Illinois that could accomodate a group ?
    dyslexics untie!!

Sing loud for the sunshine,
    Pray hard for the rain
    And show your love for Lady Nature
    And she will come back again
    Page/Plant

Images

IL hang