Tarp
    ID Siltarp 8 by 10
    Insulation
    20 Degree Pheonix
    Suspension
    whoopie slings
    Images

My first backpacking trip that was NOT solo

I've been backpacking for more than 10 years but really haven't done that many trips considering the time span and still consider myself a bit of a newb, well maybe an advanced newb. None of my friends have to this point shown the least interest in going backpacking and all my trips have been solo. And I love being out there by myself. I'm kind of a recluse to begin with.

So my friend from work said he wanted to go backpacking. We end up travelling together for work sometimes and he loves to go on long walks (he drug me 16 miles in hawaii the last time lol) so I knew that from the physical standpoint he would be fine, but I really felt nervous about feeling responsible for him having a good time and being comfortable. I was afraid he'd lay awake all night miserable. He had never been backpacking before. He had never spent a night outside other than when he was a boyscout long ago. Oh and survival school in the air force, but he said they didn't have to actually pack things in then even.

We found a few days we both had off work in common and planned a real short "test the waters" trip to a spot I had been before, Shealor Lake near Carson pass. Its only a few miles in and has a couple of nice little lakes. I got all my gear sorted out to get him set up. He bought a backpack and I was afraid he'd show up with a behemoth (like the 7 lb pack I bought when I started out) but he got one of a reasonable size. I was able to put together two hammock setups, although we only had one tarp, but it wasn't going to rain. I told him if it did I'd just have to sleep on the ground under him . The low temperature was only going to get down to 50.