Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    DIY 1.1oz Gathered End
    Tarp
    DIY Sil Hex Tarp
    Suspension
    DIY Whoopies

Cool Learning the "Ropes", A Few ?'s

Spent my first night in a hammock last night. Enjoyed it for the most part but still learning to get comfortable.

I have been backpacking for a few years now and sleeping on the ground in my tarptent contrail. I love the tent but I don't love the difficulty of finding a proper site and sleeping on the hard ground.... So I'm giving the hammock thing a try!

I have been doing some research (reading on here, watching all of Shug's videos, and Googling every thought). I have learned a lot and I went to put them into practice last night, I wound up with a few questions.

I wasn't able to get completely comfortable in my hammock (ENO DN). From what I have gathered that is probably because my hang wasn't correct and I wasn't at the 30 degree sweet spot. I have learned a few other tricks today on how to find that sweet spot but I want to double check my findings.

I'm pretty sure I want to use a structural ridgeline in my setup, I had one last night (550 para, stretchy I know, amsteel will be used next trip). I don't think I had it adjusted correctly.

TRUE or FALSE???
    -----When using a structural ridgeline, you can achieve the perfect hang (30 degree) every time you hang your hammock regardless of how tight your suspension is-------

I think that is the one thing I need cleared up. Does the structural ridgeline almost take the guess work out of getting that perfect sag every time you hang your hammock?

Thank you all for your knowledge!
    Trip Smith on Youtube - Used to be SailingandSuch
    https://www.youtube.com/tripsmith

Hammock
    WBBB 1.1 DL Lefty
    Tarp
    HG Cuben 4S
    Insulation
    HG Incu-Burrow
    Suspension
    War Buckle
    Images

Learning the "Ropes", A Few ?'s