Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Advice from the experts: 3/4 Lynx or full length?

I just recently ordered a RR and CB. I'm trying to decide on an underquilt for this setup. Just curious as to what underquilt RR owners are using? What are the pros and cons of a 3/4 and full length UQ. I'm new to hammock camping, everything I know is from Shug's videos and this forum. Thanks to you all I'm spending more money on gear, which I thought was over with. The number of gadgets one could buy for a hammock is kinda scary.

Hammock
    WL, WB, Clark stuff
    Images
    Congrats on getting one of the premier hammocks, you won't be disappointed. I have 2, one a no net and one with a net. And not to deviate from your question, but allow me to throw some observations I've noticed when laying in the RR.

I was surprised when I was laying for the first time in my RR, that it wasn't as comfy as I thought it would be. That all changed when i slipped a pad between the layers. I don't know what it is, but when I did, the lay became perfectly comfortable, like laying on a flat cloud. I have noticed some others on this site mention the same thing. Maybe some of us like a little extra support under us when laying flat? It may have something to do with the fact that a pad doesn't ever move in it, unlike a pad in a gathered end? I don't know. Let me also mention I've been down to 23 deg with 2 pads in it and have been very warm.

That being said, my opinion on pads in the RR are definitely in the minority here. The consensus here is that the Lynx fits the RR like a glove. Several other UQs will be mentioned here in short order also. I will bookmark this thread because, if I ever get sick of my pads, I want to be able to read what others are about to tell you.

I just thought I'd throw a different perspective your way. Good luck!
    Last edited by outdoorsguy; 08-08-2013 at 20:01.

Hammock
    WB RidgeRunner DL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Burrow; pads, Lynx
    Suspension