DIY-Gathered End
    Tarp
    Speer Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    CCF, KAQ 3/4
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Help: Trouble sewing webbing

I'm having some difficulty sewing the polypropylene webbing for my hanging straps. The webbing keeps getting jammed up in the sewing machine. I'll have what appears to be a straight stitch-line on the top side, but when I take it out of the machine, the underside is a jumbled mess of thread.

Has this happened to anyone else? Any pointers on how to remedy the situation?

I'm using a heavy weave 1 1/2" polypropylene webbing for the straps. I've already broken an 80/11 needle. The jean needle seemed to hold up fine, but the mess was the same.

[The sum total of my sewing machine experience consists of hemming the hammock body and bug net and attaching the velcro, so I'm a very low-level novice.]
    "He that lives upon hope will die fasting."

- Benjamin Franklin

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    Check the We Don't Sew... We Make Gear! Troubleshooting video. There are several possibilities. If you don't get any help from that vid, if you can post a pic of the mess that would be good.
    I may be slow... But I sure am gimpy.

"Bless you child, when you set out to thread a needle don't hold the thread still and fetch the needle up to it; hold the needle still and poke the thread at it; that's the way a woman most always does, but a man always does t'other way."
    Mrs. Loftus to Huck Finn

We Don't Sew... We Make Gear! video series

Important thread injector guidelines especially for Newbies

Bobbin Tension - A Personal Viewpoint

Hammock
    DIY-Gathered End
    Tarp
    Speer Cat Tarp
    Insulation
    CCF, KAQ 3/4
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Thanks. I've watched all of the videos multiple times with the exception of the troubleshooting video. I'll check it out this evening.

- Benjamin Franklin