Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Kelty Noah's Tarp ??

So I am going to Cabelas today and they have a Noah's 12 X12 tarp for $52.46. Does anyone have one of these or know about them and if they are worth the mula? I really want to make my own but I am a newb behind the thread injector and don't quite trust my self to not ruin the material I buy and waste my money. Which also brings me to my next question. Can someone point me in the right direction for choosing a tarp material? I want to compare my different options and I am having a hard time finding out the pros and cons of them all. Thanks guys!!

Hammock
    DH, WBBB, JBD
    Tarp
    UGQ
    Insulation
    UGQ
    Suspension
    Dutchware
    Regarding the Kelty Noah 12...I highly recommend it! It was my first tarp, and I think it's a great one...wish I still had it for a backup...

Hammock
    Clark DLX, ENO SN, BIAS WWM
    Tarp
    OxPalace,Big Squid
    Insulation
    Oxgear, KAQ, WL
    Suspension
    Whoopies/Dutchware
    Images
    For the price the Noah's tarp is hard to beat. It's a little on the heavy side but is a very versatile tarp. It can be pitched in a variety of ways and offers good coverage in bad weather.

Everyone ought to believe in something....I believe I'll go set up the hammock!

Hammock
    WBRR, Lots of DIY
    Tarp
    MacCat; Cloudburst
    Insulation
    Lynx, HG T/UQ, AHE
    Suspension
    Varies
    Quote Originally Posted by barkejos View Post
    ...Can someone point me in the right direction for choosing a tarp material?...
    30D / 1.1 oz Silnylon is one of the most commonly used DIY tarp materials. Lots of use us 2nds to lower the cost. 2nds in these fabrics is normally due to a cosmetic blemish that no one ever finds. DIY Gear Supply is favored source.

Hammock
    DIY R2B3 (Black Bear Burrito) + HUG
    Tarp
    Noah12, Mambajamba
    Insulation
    DIY TQ/UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopie + straps
    Images