Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Where am I going wrong

I'm new to hammocking and this is what I'm considering as a buy. Please provide a critical critique and tell me what's wrong or what I could do better. I'm 6"1"+, 177 lbs, priorities are 1) sleep well 2) keep weight down 3) cost (within reason). Any and all input is appreciated. This is what I'm considering:

Hammock - Warbonnet Traveler 1.1 double. I dont do much warm weather hiking and am thinking I could make a bug net if I need one. Also keeps weight and cost down, first choice was the Blackbird.

Tarp - Warbonnet Edge, I am concerned that it may not be large enough to keep me dry. First choice was a cuben tarp but dont know if it's worth the cost. I may look back on this as a bad decision?

Underquilt - Wilderness Logics 3/4. I want to sleep warm so I'm affraid I may regret not getting a full length. I'm planning to use the sit pad I carry under the feet and maybe use some of the huggie material I have under the feet.

Top quilt - I have an REI 700 down bag that weighs 2lb-3oz after I added 4 oz of down to get it warm into the teens. I am planning to convert it to a top quilt and I'm assuming I can get the weight down to about 28 oz.

This set up would get me to a weight of 4.8 lb, exactly what my tent set up weighs. Thanks for your help.

Hammock
    The Quagmire/misc DIY/Eno DN
    Tarp
    WB SF
    Insulation
    Hg system(eventual
    Suspension
    DIY whoopies/UCR's
    Images
    At your weight you don't need the double. I weigh 10+ lbs more than you any given day, and my single 1.1 is fine for me. 11ft with dynaglide ucr's and zing-it ridgeline weighs 9.8oz in bishop bag. 9.27oz without the bag.
    I may be dumb, but at least I'm ugly!

I've done so much, with so little, for so long, now I can do anything with nothing.

It's not peer pressure, it's just your turn.

Hammock
    Switchback/DD Superlight
    Tarp
    BDD/DDH SL
    Insulation
    JRBShen/AHE/DDH UB
    Suspension
    Straps/DC-DDH susp