Tarp
    Speer 8x10 CatTarp
    Insulation
    JRB Nest
    Suspension
    webbing & cinch
    Images

one week trip in SNP.

Me and a friend are hiking through the 105 miles SNP in late May (25th), and I was wondering if the weather for this time of year is cold enough that I will need any underquilts or anything. I am fairly new to hammocking, and haven't done any trips that lasted longer than 2 nights in my HH explorer. I don't have any quilts right now, so I am just wondering if I need to buy anything before I go, or if I will be fine with just a blanket.
    "I leave here believing more than I had, this love has got no ceiling" - Eddie Vedder

Hammock
    Warbonnet BlackBird
    Tarp
    MacCat Deluxe
    Insulation
    Down top & bottom
    Suspension
    Strap and buckle
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by whatnowmitch View Post
    Me and a friend are hiking through the 105 miles SNP in late May (25th), and I was wondering if the weather for this time of year is cold enough that I will need any underquilts or anything.
    I don't know where the SNP is, but unless it is above 70 F all the time I think you'll need some kind of bottom insulation.
    -Liz -

Hammock
    Clark NA
    Tarp
    Clark Rainfly XL
    Images
    Shenandoah National Park (what I'd assume the OP means by SNP) is just north of Charlottesville, VA. I can't offer much advice on whether or not to bring UQs due to lack of experience with hammocking but I do know down here in Blacksburg, VA it gets cold at night even in the summer(~55-65). Actually we just had snow all day on Tuesday(4/7).

Hammock
    Hennessey Explorer Ultralight
    Tarp
    Hennessey Hex
    Insulation
    HH Super Shelter
    Suspension
    ring buckle
    Images
    You are going to need something. A pad or somekind of bottom insulation such as the Super Shelter or Underquilt. That area can get chilly even in the summer.
    I may be slow... But I sure am gimpy.