First Attempt at DIY UQ any tips greatly appreciated

Been hammock camping for years but I only discovered the forum last week and it looks to be filled with useful tips so any advice is appreciated. I live in Buffalo and I don't do a ton of camping in the winter but when I do the temps get pretty cold. I currently use a sleeping bag and sleeping pad combo and Im pretty happy with it but I would like to add an UQ to the mix for a little extra warmth. I have very little sewing experience and will be relying heavily on my wife and mother in that department. This is a link to the UQ I would like to try and make:

http://sticksblog.com/2011/09/04/diy...lf-underquilt/

First off I am going to make it a little larger so its a full length, I'm thinking 78"x48" is pretty standard? My next question is what other types of materials could I use to make the UQ warmer and Lighter. Also if anyone has tried this or a similar UQ and has any design modifications or recommended add ons I'm all ears.

Hammock
    ENO Double Nest
    Tarp
    WL Tadpole
    Insulation
    UQG UQ, Ozark TQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies
    Looks simple enough I might try to make one for warmer weather. What about just using a fleece blanket...
    <>< Matthew R. <><
    K5NON
    Bike4Heck.com
    Helotes, Texas

"Lighten Your Life And Enlighten Your Mind" -M.R.

Hammock
    Ridge Outdoor Gear Pinnacle 360
    Tarp
    UGQ Rect. and HHex
    Insulation
    DIY CDT/synth sets
    Suspension
    Straps/Speed Hooks
    Images
    I made a similar UQ. I purchased 2 yards of mylar infused batting from Walmart. It's a lot less crinkly and was $5 a yard. I cut in half and doubled it. Sewed it together with $1.50/yd fabric that is windproofed(Walmart has it as "undetermined origin" for the fabric), added shock cord to ends of mason's line in the channels, shock cord and locks for the UQ ends to cinch up.