Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

tarp/tent question

Complete newbie to hammocks. I had a net one years ago, but nothing like today's styles.

My question: is there a winter type tarp with doors that can be easily pitched with trekking poles as the end supports should I want to use it as an ultralite tent?

Formerly octothorpesarus mudsocks's Avatar
    Images
    I've pitched my ZPacks hammock tarp w/ doors using poles before to see if it could be done. It's definitely possible though I will admit I did a poor job and wouldn't trust it in high winds. But I am sure that is more to do with my inexperience than the tarp. Zpacks makes cups for this very purpose. -
    http://www.zpacks.com/large_image.sh...ps/cups_l.jpg?

Thanks. I was hoping someone made one lime the super fly that you could put the pole in a grommet right in the edge of the ridgeline if that makes sense. This could work though.

Formerly octothorpesarus mudsocks's Avatar
    Images
    I haven't seen any like what you are describing but that doesn't mean they don't exist. You might send an email to zpacks. I'm sure Joe will have better information and tips on pitching. Heck, most of our cottage vendors will make custom items so if it hasn't been done yet you could be the first to own one.

Hammock
    WBBB SL 1.7
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    WB 0° Wooki +3oz
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    Images
    I don't know of any hammock tarps that will allow connecting the poles to the tarp directly. There are quite a few light winter tarp options, though. Hammock Gear has 2 Cuben fiber tarps with doors specifically for hammocks. Hyperlight Mountain Gear, Mountain Laurel Designs and BearPaw Wilderness Designs all have Cuben tarps, too, although no hammock tarps with doors. Some of their tarps might work for hammocks, though. Or, as octothorpesarus said, just shoot them an e-mail and ask if they can do alterations.

Hammock
    DIY 9ft Custom hammock
    Tarp
    Hex