DIY 12' 1.6 Argon
    Tarp
    DIY 1.1 Sil Hex
    Insulation
    WB 3 Season Yeti
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles/Stra

Experiment with VB

Last night I slept down by the river in my Hennessy Explorer, WB Yeti, and some crappy Costco sleeping bag. I had previously used this setup in my back yard one night at about 20* and snowing and windy. I'm not sure the temps last night but I'm guessing around 30* and very little wind. I'm no weather expert, but I think it was more humid last night than the night it snowed.

Well, I was much colder last night than before. I went to bed with cold feet and the never warmed up. In fact, they stayed pretty much ice cold all night. My son was out with me in a Hennessy Scout, a Thermarest Ridge Runner CCF, and the same crappy sleeping bag. He says he slept warm, no problems. I did jerry rig one of the cheap 1 oz space blankets under him as a wind screen. I also draped a fleece blanket over the bug net and below the tarp. However, that fell off in the night. I know the SB had air gaps, so I'm not sure it did any good at all.

So after a couple hours I was cold and had to "water the leaves". While out I grabbed an extra SB and some hand warmers. I lined the inside of my sleeping bad with the SB and put the hand warmers down at my feet. I could instantly tell a difference with the SB. My body warmed up almost immediately. In fact I had to take off the down puffer coat I was wearing.

My feet never did warm up. I had on wool socks with some elastic support. I took those almost all the way off thinking they were restricting circulation. Maybe I should have taken them all the way off?

Anyway, sleeping with the SB next too me was odd. It definitely kept me warm. I wonder how much my sleeping bag helped at all. The down sides were the noise and the moisture. It was very krinkley. Even as I was breathing it sounded almost like rain on my tarp. I couldn't hear anything outside of my hammock.