DIY
    Tarp
    Mac Cat Hex
    Insulation
    Underground Quilts
    Suspension
    Dutch Buckle/strap

Hello from Ohio!

Hello to everyone and thanks for the contributions to this wonderful resource! I'm new to hammock camping. I love backpacking, but have lately been fed up with using a tent. It's heavy, too short for me, and I tend to sleep off my ground pad more often than not so I wake up freezing my butt off. This was especially true when I went out in the polar vortex part two last weekend.

Last year I tried amateur hammock camping with a cheap travel hammock, but I neglected to bring bottom insulation or a bug net. So, after freezing my bum off (in the middle of a 100 plus heat wave mind you) and waking up with a vampire ring of mosquito bites around my neck, I'm ready to not make the same mistakes.

Before jumping back into this half cocked, I want to do some research and get opinions, especially before dropping a bunch of cash. What I was looking at purchasing is an Eagles Nest Double hammock system and this Wiggy's Bag to throw over top the hammock (like a peapod).

This probably isn't the thread for that particular question, but if anyone has input nonetheless, I'd appreciate it!

Hello from Ohio!

OH

Welcome from another Ohioan. One word of advice. UNDERQUILT. I have tried a number of ways to keep warm in a hammock and the underquilt is by far the best solution. Spend your money on the underquilt. Hammocks are very easy to make. You will spend more money on a good supension than you will for the material for the hammock. I like crinkle taffeta.

Hope to see you on one of our Ohio hangs

Robb

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY
    Insulation
    DIY
    Suspension
    DIY
    Images
    Welcome Matthew. Like you, I got fed-up with sleeping on the ground. Lots of folks start out with an ENO doublenest. Some of us keep those simple gathered end hammocks for their versatility. It can be a money pit, but if you can sew, you can make your own gear.