Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Dream Hammock Dangerbird
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Pros and Cons Dangerbird Vs. Blackbird

Newbie here, I did a quick search but didn't see exactly what I was looking for. Please forgive me if this has been discussed at length already as I am sure it is a comparison that has been drawn often before.

I was pretty sure that I was going to get a Hennessey as that is what one of my camping buddies has. That was until I stumbled on this forum. Now the two top contenders are the Dream Hammock Dangerbird and the Warbonnet Blackbird.

I camp in early spring and late fall in the Adirondack mountains, we see nights down near and sometimes below the 32 degree mark. That being said I was thinking about getting the DL Blackbird so I could use one of my existing ground pads with it. Then I saw the Dangerbird and fact that it is sold as a four season. I don't really consider my camping to be four season but am wondering if it will be that much warmer than the Blackbird?

One final note is obviously overall comfort, I understand this is subjective but any argument for one or the other is welcome. Thanks!!

Hammock
    Switchback/Speer/T-Bird/WBBB/Lt Owl
    Tarp
    SF/CF/Cldburst/Oge
    Insulation
    Incub/Buro/Snugfit
    Suspension
    Cinch Straps
    I have both, and love both. If I had to pick just one for all hammock camping, I'd go with the DangerBird, because it has the netting and a top cover. I love to zip the top cover part way down so I can sleep later and the sun doesn't wake me up. The top cover is great for keeping in the warmth during cold weather. Also the DangerBird comes with quilt clips that help keep your UQ snugged up. I would get the light weight material (1.0 or 1.1) as with heavier material the hammock will be heavy. Dream Hammocks also has many colors and materials to choose from, so the hammock is more personalized.