Introduction and 1st Question

Hi,
    my first post and a question already.
    I am new to the whole hammock experience, having owned a couple for the last 2 years but never tried sleeping overnight. I have decided on making my own underquilt having watched numerous videos and read numerous on-line articles.
    My question is related to down and would greatly appreciate any advice. Being located in Ireland, its is proving somewhat difficult to find and local (uk) supplier of down. I had resigned myself to purchasing an 2nd hand quilt that would only guarantee me a % of down vs feather. I recently got a reply from a UK supplier of down, but can only supply 500 fill. The down in question will cost around $74, excluding delivery for 500gms of 500 fill down. However, I can get a 80 - 20% hungarian goose down vs feather single quilt for around $50. I cannot get a fill rating off the quilt, but will probably receive much more down for a smaller price. I know this is an impossible question to answer, but what would suggest would be the best option.
    Thanks, Noel

Hammock
    Argon 11 ft or HH BKUL
    Tarp
    Asym DIY Pole Mod
    Insulation
    DIY, Jarbrige,HHSS
    Suspension
    Lashings
    Images
    Welcome to the forum. Sorry, I can't help with your question (I don't use down). Someone should chime in soon..
    Enjoying the simple things in life -
    Own less, live more.

Hammock
    HHBPUL, DD Frontline
    Tarp
    Stock Hennessy Tar
    Insulation
    Exped 9 DLX
    Suspension
    Big Butt Whoopies
    Welcome from the Ontario shores of the St. Lawrence River.

It seems that I read on BCUK that a member had bought bulk down from this company in Scotland. http://www.thefeathercompany.com. I can't seem to locate the post at this time though so maybe I am simply making it up.....

Having said that their are options in Canada and the U.S. for purchasing bulk down. If you chose to go that route please read below.