Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Warbonnet Traveler 1.1
    Tarp
    DIY hex tarp

Bike tourist exploring hammocks

Hello all,

I'm just getting into bicycle touring, having completed a couple overnight rides of 150mi. I was packed pretty light for both of these rides as I had booked a hotel room for the overnight stay.

I'm now looking at my first extended tour, four days down the Great Allegheny Passage in May. Clearly hotel stays drive up the cost of touring and limit flexibility when considering where and when to stop.

Tents are the obvious first choice as an alternative but a friend (and fellow Hammock Forums member, dougalcorn) suggested I look into hammocks. I like the weight savings of hammocks over tents but I'm concerned about having to go to ground, which seems like it would be required on relatively rare occasions. Also, I'd be interested to hear about the acceptance of hammocking in Europe as I hope to tour the UK, Ireland and the Continent within a few years.

Thanks for reading and happy trails!

Hammock
    Switchback/Speer/T-Bird/WBBB/Lt Owl
    Tarp
    SF/CF/Cldburst/Oge
    Insulation
    Incub/Buro/Snugfit
    Suspension
    Cinch Straps
    I think on the East Coast you will have no problem hanging your hammock, except some campgrounds. Not sure about Europe, love the idea of hammock camping over there though. Good luck to you, I'd much rather camp with a hammock than a tent. Just my $.02.
    "No whining in the woods"

Hammock
    WBBB XLC
    Tarp
    WBSF
    Insulation
    Yeti UQ, HG TQ
    Suspension
    Adjustable Webbing
    I'm doing the GAP/C&O trail in early May and I plan to hammock the whole way.
    "We must reject the idea that every time a law's broken, society is guilty rather than the lawbreaker.
    It is time to restore the American precept that each individual is accountable for his actions." - Ronald Reagan

Hammock
    Clark DLX, ENO SN, BIAS WWM
    Tarp
    OxPalace,Big Squid
    Insulation
    Oxgear, KAQ, WL