Hammock
    ENO Double Nest
    Tarp
    ENO Pro-Fly
    Suspension
    Random assortment

Other suspension brainstorming

This is for fun discussion.

I had some ideas, that may or not be the most economical in terms of setup time, or whatever. But they could be really cool. So don't get on my case about how light whoopie hooks are. I understand. I'm just having some fun here with an idea.

One thing i want to try to do, for fun, and maybe a weight reduction (maybe). is to make a zero metal suspension setup. Use only knots (which i know is not breaking any new ground either).

So, I am new to hammocking, but I have some rock climbing background, knots and suspension are familiar to me in different ways.

Idea 1:

Instead of using any kind of carabiner or clip or buckle. why not use a standard climbers figure 8 knot in my webbing to attach to my hammock's end loop right to my tree strap? That seems natural to me as that is how i attached my harness to a top rope. I have trusted my life to that knot in the past. It is fast to tie, easy to adjust and when done right it hods strong, but still unties easily after being loaded. Webbing is used in this way to attach top ropes to trees so I know the knot is sound when tied in webbing. albeit not as easy adjustment as a cinch buckle or whoopie sling.

Idea 2:
    My second idea is a little more ambitious. it would be a single line suspension. but use friction knots instead of rings. so tie the single line and attach to the hammock using friction knots where you normally would have rings. in theory you could move and adjust the hammock along the ridge line by sliding the knots the same way you would with the rings, but they stay put when your weight is pulling down. My concern here is that to save weight you would want to make it out of amsteel blue, but amsteel is way more slippery than nylon, so I'm not sure if friction knots would hold as well. I will have to experiment.