TTTM KING (short trips) GTN7 (Long)
    Tarp
    JRB 11x10
    Insulation
    S. Sniv & Hud R.
    Suspension
    SLS with woopies

Hiking pole spreader bar failure.

So, the pole snapped under the compression. I thought it would be okay because I saw others doing the same.

I was thinking of using a dowel or something. I've spent the last 5 hours scouring all the threads I could and I have seen dozens of ideas floating around, but I'll just come out and say it.... what is a best, light, surefire way to not have it break on me again. The hammock is Grizz's DIY Bridge.

Oh, and I ordered this tarp today. I think I might have screwed myself over, but I'm a student, and I'm poor (funny how those both coincide). http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._ya_oh_product

Thanks for the help.
    "The nuclear generator of brain sludge is television." By Dave Barry

Hammock
    DIY bridge, Pertex "Grackle"
    Tarp
    DIY 10x11
    Insulation
    DIY this-n-that
    Suspension
    Whoopie/M-spike
    Images
    I'm bumping this so that someone with more engineering experience can chime in. My only thought: there is no way that the spreader bar wasn't exactly perpendicular to the hang of the hammock, was there? Also, it's hard to resist temptation, but the poles shouldn't be used as pull-up bars to adjust your position within the hammock. I've seen some poles with offset handles - it seems like the force of a load could bend those outward.

I've never seen any stress in my poles, but they are old clunky things. What material was the pole that broke?

Hammock
    GrizzBridge Ariel
    Tarp
    HG Cuben Winter
    Insulation
    DIY UQ
    Images
    well huh. I wrote out a reply this morning but I guess I hadn't had my cupa strong tea yet because it seems I missed pushing "submit" or something.

Well then, first, sorry about that pole. You don't give any other information about your setup so I'll just run down the important things.